Iain wins national choral writing competition

Iain was the winner of a national competition for choral writing. His piece, The Old Oak Queen, based on a new poem by Cornish poet, Mac Dunlop was awarded first prize and premiered near Liskeard on 26th June.

The piece was written to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the East Cornwall Bach Choir and was performed by them in the beautiful setting of St. Germans church with both Mac and Iain in attendance. The poem describes an ancient oak tree standing on a cliff overlooking the river Looe as it winds its way towards the sea on the Cornish coast. Iain's setting of the poem is wistful and reflective, written for up to 8 choral voices and its first performance was received very well by both choir and audience.

This was Iain's first foray into the world of choral music and based on this success, may not be his last.

It is hoped that the piece may soon be published and we will hope to post a video of the performance in the near future for more people to enjoy.

A new piece for intermediate band

We have been asked for music for youth or intermediate band and so we are pleased to have just released a new work for this type of ensemble. The piece entitled A Devon Waltz was written during a holiday to Devon in Summer 2015, hence the title.

It uses an original melody and is specifically written for a band of intermediate level (4th section brass bands) as a pleasing concert work, or can be used by higher section bands that need a 'break' from the intensity of larger scale concert works.

Priced at £24.95, the piece is now available from our catalogue.

Take a look at our repertoire for beginner ensembles

Following the success of two previous suites for Beginner Brass ensembles Brass Works and Dances for Brass, we have two new additions to our repertoire - A Little Suite for Brass and A Little Christmas Suite. The first piece again is in three separate movements which can be played as a whole suite or as individual pieces. The three movements are 1. Simple Tune 2. Lullaby and 3. Circus March. The Christmas suite comprises 1. Good King Wenceslas 2. While Shepherds Watched and 3. Jingle Bells.

The ensembles are written in 6 parts consisiting of 1st & 2nd Bb cornet parts, Eb tenor horn, Bb baritone/euphonium, Bb trombone and Eb bass, but there additional parts included in concert pitch for parts 1 and 2, horn in F and bass clef parts for the remainder which makes the piece very adaptable to suit your ensemble. We would be happy to supply additional parts for other instruments such as flute, saxophone etc. on request at no additional cost. Please let us know your requirements.

Priced at only £19.95 per set, it is great value for money. Other pieces in this series have been used in local Music Festivals and at the Music For Youth National Festival in Birmingham. For more information, or to see a score and part sample, please visit our store page.

To listen to MIDI samples of three of the pieces, click below.

Dances for Brass

Brass Works Suite

A Little Suite for Brass